DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a spin-off of dpreview. We are a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. From smartphone to Medium Format.

DPRF is a community for everybody, every brand and every sensor format. Digital and film.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

Contax superwides

G

I have some experience with a couple of the Contax SLR superwide lenses, but don't own one now. The 21mm is a marvelous but oversized lens, I've heard wonderful things about the 15mm but it's ungodly expensive, and the 18mm f4 doesn't seem to get a lot of attention or respect. I "need" to add one, and would enjoy hearing from anyone who had tested and compared two or all of these lenses and came to some conclusion as to how good they were (relative to the high standards of the entire Contax lens line, of course).

I have an 18mm and a 25mm Zeiss for my RTSIII. The reason for purchasing these 2 lenses has a lot to do with the angle of view (check the specs) compared with the 50mm 1.4 lens.
The 18mm is a cracking lens, with virtually no distortion, and very consistent colour rendition compared to the other Zeiss lenses.
You have to be careful with the in camera metering because it is such a wide view, and I often cross check the meter reading with an incident reading from a hand held meter.
If there is a problem, it's getting a filter to fit the front to protect the front element - if you thought the lens was expensive wait till you see the price of the filter - it has to be big to stop vignetting.
In summary, it's a great lens, and gives excellent results. Check out some of the photos on www.cvscotland.com for more of this and other Zeiss lenses.