DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a spin-off of dpreview. We are a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. From smartphone to Medium Format.

DPRF is a community for everybody, every brand and every sensor format. Digital and film.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

New and looking

Hols52

Hi there

I am new to photography having only got my first "proper" camera in November 2011.

After great thought and research I plumped for Sony and now own:
Sony A77, 16-50G, 70-300G, 70-400G and 35 F1.8.

I particularly enjoy taking wildlife pictures and also landscapes which fits nicely into my other hobby - walking around the countryside and seaside.

I am interested in learning as much as possible and getting the most enjoyment out of this hobby.

I a also interested in being able to "reach" as much of my chosen targets (birds) as possible. This also will include buying a 500mm lens. I am looking at picking brains and opinions to learn as much as I can about these big lenses before I make my decision.

If anyone is interested in the sort of pictures I have taken so far I have some on Flickr - under Hols51.

Thats me introduced I guess - look forward to using this forum.

Graham

Graham...

Since you shoot Sony/Minolta...and there is nothing right now over 300mm that Sony has...here is a short list of lenses....

Minolta 600 f4
Minolta 300 f2.8
Sigma 50-500 f4.5-6.3 Bigmama
Sigma 500 f4
Sigma 300 f2.8

Out of those...the most versatile lens would be the Bigmama...I have shot with both a 600 f4 and 800 f5.6....really not that much difference...especially for outdoors shots...if you are looking for speed...a 300 2.8 would be great...then you can use a Teleconverter 1.4 or 2.0 which will turn that lens into 1.4 - 420 4.2 or 2.0 - 600 5.6 ....