DPR Forum

Welcome to the Friendly Aisles!
DPRF is a spin-off of dpreview. We are a photography forum with people from all over the world freely sharing their knowledge and love of photography. Everybody is welcome, from beginners to the experienced professional. From smartphone to Medium Format.

DPRF is a community for everybody, every brand and every sensor format. Digital and film.
Enjoy this modern, easy to use software. Look also at our Reviews & Gallery!

Lack of Sharpness with 20D

T

terry_pickford

If anyone can assist it would be most helpful. I am feeling very frustrated, I am a wildlife photographer using the canon 600 IS lens for the first time coupled to a 20D at speeds of 1/1600 sec at f6.3 but still my images after processing in Photoshop dissapointingly are not sharp. The camera parameters are set to 1 with a sharpening amount of 3 in Digital Phot Professional (V 1.1).

One additional problem I have failed to resolve, when I open a RAW file for the first time in Digital Photo Professional's main page, only a partial image appears. If I then open in 50,100,or 200 % the image will appear in full view.

I am running windows ME on a 900Mz PC with 500Mb ram. So there should not be a problem.
32954.jpg

The initial images from the 20D do often look a bit unsharp. Like all digital cameras, they need sharpening and often some contrast adjustments in post work.

I'd strongly suggest investing in PhotoShop CS, and investigate the addition of some sharpening programs on top of that.

Try visiting www.fredmiranda.com and check out the programs available. Fred's Sharpening Pro allows lots of sharpening to be applied without the halo that usually accompanies normal PS sharpening.

500 meg may not be enough. It sounds like your computer is starved for RAM. It's cheap theses days, so try beefing it up. Bet your issues disappear.

Nice shot Terry.